The Eastern Athletic Trainers' Association Home | Contact Us | Site Map

Dedicated to Research and Education for the Athletic Training Profession



Carl Krein Scholarship

Carl F. Krein established the athletic training curriculum at Central Connecticut State University while working as the Head Athletic Trainer from 1966 until his retirement in 1996. Prior to that he was the Head Athletic Trainer at State University of New York at Potsdam (1964-1966).

Mr. Krein graduated in 1963 with a degree in Health and Physical Education from East Stroudsburg State University. He then continued his education at Ohio State University Certificate Program and received his certificate in Physical Therapy in 1964. He graduated from the University of Connecticut 1970 with a MA degree in Physical Education. Carl was certified as an athletic trainer in 1968.

He served as president of the Eastern Athletic Trainers’ Association from 1985-1987 and was a member of the NATA Board of Certification from 1976-1984 and was subcommittee chair of the Oral/Practical (exam) development. He served on the Professional Education Committee (1990-1992) and Board of Directors of the NATA (1992-1998). While on the BOD, Carl chaired the International Task Force from 1994-1997. He continues to serve as the NATA liaison to the Committee on Sports Medicine and Fitness of the American Academy of Pediatrics. He was Editorial Advisor to the NATA News (1998).

He was appointed to the Physical Therapy/Athletic Training Staff for the 1980 Lake Placid Winter Olympics, he was named Athletic Trainer of the Year by the EATA (1981); the NATA awarded the Sayers “Bud” Miller Distinguished Athletic Training Educator Award and Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer (1996). At Central Connecticut State University he was the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award (1984) and named to their Hall of Fame (1995). In 1998, a dedication ceremony was held for the Carl F. Krein Athletic Training Center located in the Krein Center at Central Connecticut State University. He was the EATA Pinky Newell addressee in 1999 and was honored with the NATA Hall of Fame Award in 2001.

2002 Winner- Amanda Brown
2003 Winner- Alicia Potash
2004 Winner-
2005 Winner- Tara Yeske
2006 Winner- Elisabeth Macrum
2007 Winner- Chantelle Bowden
2008 Winner- Rebekah Porter
2009 Winner- Lindsay Roderick
2010 Winner- Matthew Mills
2011 Winner- Nicole Delage
2012 Winner- Philip Szlosek
2013 Winner- Xin Yi Liew
2014 Winner- Colleen Melvin
2015 Winner- Brian Greene
2016 Winner- Megan DeRoy
2017 Winner- Monique Marcelino



Home > Scholarships > Carl Krein Scholarship

Home | Contact Us | Site Map